Progress Report

1) My gramma got me drunk.

2) She’s crazy.  She said to our waitress, as she walked away, “Oh, go dye your hair, you copper penny bitch.”  My goodness, sassy!

3) I might have gotten a job today.  From hilarious old hippie-spirited man called Captain Tattoo who does henna art at the Orange County Fair.  Apparently I charmed the pants off him, because ten minutes after he set up an interview with me next week he called me back and told me he’d pay my gas to go down to the San Diego Fair and have a practice run as booth manager extraordinaire.   You mean my Hempfest bong-selling experience is actually getting me a job?  You mean I get to spend five weeks outside at a fair wrangling teenagers into getting body art?  And you’re gonna pay me like double minimun wage?  Hell yeah.

4) I’ve been promising to post pictures of my studio.  Finally! The camera phone really doesn’t do the turquoise justice. Y’all will just have to come visit me, hmmmmmm?

noname

In the hallway, a couple of recent collages.

noname(2)

Reliquarium #1: Geertruida

noname(3)

I love that song, Green Door.

noname(4)

The picture from Rina’s uncle, who may be a lady or a dude, and who looks mysteriously like someone from a dream of mine.

noname(5)

Fuzzy tantalizing close up.

noname-13

Afternoon light.

noname-15

Why didn’t I think to color-code my books sooner?

noname-14

Champagne gnome guards the collage stacks.

noname-16

Vanity. This has been my mirror — barring the Philly years — since I was born.

noname-17

This is a skirt I made out of pants. And my camera phone.

noname-6

The girl who lived here before left behind these curtains, which are purrfect.

noname-5

Comfiest bed evar.

noname-4

Journals!

noname-24

This was in Mom’s bedroom. It reminded her of me.

noname-3

The collage I made for Mom, and a reminder from her.

noname-2

These Minoan spirals need a second coat of copper gleam.

noname(8)

The factory outside my window. Mexican and English voices come on the loudspeaker, and I can understand neither. This morning I swear they were “Paging Marco Pollo.” Yes, Pollo.

noname(9)

This is how close the train comes. When I lay in bed and close my eyes, sometimes it feels like the train’s coming straight at my head. Sometimes it’s scary. Sometimes it’s kind of orgasmic.

noname(6)

View from the bed.

noname(7)

Beautiful copper floor.

noname-7

Peek-a-Buddha!

noname-8

Cedar chest Dad made me, out of his mom’s old one.

noname-9

A messy desk is a happy desk.

noname-10

You can make chile rellenjo with nutella mole for six in my kitchenette. Anything is possible.

noname-12

Where that junk is, when the junk is gone, will be my brother’s Hammond organ.

noname

Heart on wings.

~ by Arrrow Marie on July 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “Progress Report”

  1. Dude, your studio. Wow. Maybe you’ll never let me int he door, but it inspired me to order a remote shutter trigger. i can SO see pictures with several of you doing various things in your paradise.

    Incidentally, mpoff@fvhs.com is no more.

  2. I love Reliquarium #1:Geertruida … warmth and humor

Leave a Reply

 
