Go fig.

Today I am feeling a little bit like this:

(I don’t know what this picture is, but I found it here at Hjartesmil)

It’s doing me well to pay attention to daily lessons in gratitude and wonder.

Mostly wonder.

That’s what those shoes in that picture are: wonder.

Wonder reminds me that there is jumping and flying and more than I could ever explain or even imagine, and reminds me to remember how 7 year old girls know how to have a good time in the midst of a difficult conversation, and wish for things that are attainable and some even here already. Like:

Cozy.

and Red.

and Figs.

and Paint.

and An unexpectedly calm and friendly voice at the other end of the telephone.

and My favorite lamp.

And This ring that used to be Mom’s, but which she bought cuz it looked like me, although I didn’t know that until yesterday when I dug it out and put it on and Gramma told me.

and My favorite jeans.

and Gifts in the mail.

and Being Creative.

and Secret messages.

and Dreaming about a friend I’ve never dreamed about before.

and The stone I keep in my purse.

and Making myself a meal at the end of the day.

After wonder comes gratitude, together with want. It’s a flip coin I keep in my pocket.

Fig: “I didn’t know that” edition

“1. dress or array: to appear at a party in full fig.

“2. condition: to feel in fine fig.

“Origin:
1685–95; earlier feague to liven, whip up < G fegen to furbish, sweep, clean; akin to fair

"The insulting sense of the word in Shakespeare, etc. (A fig for …) is 1579, from Gk. and It. use of their versions of the word as slang for "cunt," apparently because of how a ripe fig looks when split open. Giving the fig (Fr. faire la figue, Sp. dar la higa) was an indecent gesture of ancient provenance, made by putting the thumb between two fingers or into the mouth."



ALSO: WTF Edition:


(source)

“Most commercially grown figs are pollinated by wasps. And yes, edible figs wind up with at least one dead female wasp inside. But it’s still not quite the childhood myth of fruits squirming with insect meat. It’s all part of the mutually beneficial relationship that exists between fig wasp and fig plant.

“When a female wasp dies inside an edible fig, an enzyme in the fig
called ficin breaks down her carcass into protein. The fig basically digests the dead insect, making it a part of the resulting ripened fruit. The crunchy bits in figs are seeds, not anatomical parts of a wasp.”


~ by Arrrow Marie on December 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
